Home > Branches > VIC Branch > Bioactive Discovery & Development Group

Bioactive Discovery & Development Group

The Bioactive Discovery and Development Group is affiliated with the Victorian Branch of the RACI. It was formed on the 23rd February 2005, with a view to provide a casual and collegiate networking forum for students, academics, and industry professionals. The RACI Bioactive Discovery and Development Group holds 3-4 dinners per year with keynote speakers invited from the Melbourne biotechnology community.


Danny Gelman

​E: danny.gelman@griffithhack.com

Immediate Past Chair

Peter Duggan

​E: Peter.Duggan@csiro.au


Kellie Tuck

E: kellie.tuck@monash.edu


Charlotte Williams

E: Charlotte.Williams@csiro.au

Chair Elect

Edward Tyndall

E: edward.tyndall@novogen.com

For a list of past office bearers, click here.

Past Speakers


  • Dr Megan Baldwin, Opthea Ltd
  • Dr Felicia Pradera, Defence Science and Technology Group
  • Dr Warwick Tong, Cancer Therapeutics CRC


  • Associate Professor Spencer Williams, Associate Director of Chemical Biology Research Theme, Bio 21
  • Dr Paul MacLennan, Managing Director IDT Australia
  • Dr Nick Ede Executive Director, Imugene Ltd



  • Dr Graham Mitchell, founding member of Foursight Associates
  • Dr Phil Kearney, Director – Licensing & External Research, Merck & Co. 


  • Phil Keep, VP, Intellectual Property, CSL
  • Michael Wilson, Senior Director of Molecular Biology, CSL
  • Prof Peter Doherty, Nobel Laureate
  • Dr Alan Robertson


  • Dr Jenny Bennett, Publisher, CSIRO Publishing
  • Dr Chris Langmead Head, Servier Drug Discovery Program, Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences


  • Dr Greg Simpson, Deputy Chief of Industry, CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering
  • Dr Andrew Bray, CEO, Broadvector Ltd


  • Dr Alistair Draffan Director, Drug Discovery, Biota
  • Prof. Jenny Martin, Institute of Molecular Biosciences, University of Queensland
  • Dr Scott Courtney, Managing Director, Boron Molecular


  • Dr. John Devlin, President and CEO, DEVCHEM Pty Ltd 
  • Michael Caine, Partner, Davies Collison Cave
  • Dr Ian McDonald, Chief Scientific Officer, Pharmaxis Ltd
  • Dr Ian Street, Chief Scientific Officer, Cancer Therapeutics CRC


  • Prof. Eric Simanek, Texas A&M
  • Dr John Lambert, Director of Drug Discovery, Biota Holding Ltd
  • Geraldine Storton, Director Regulatory Affairs, Mayne Pharma Ltd


  • Dr Keith Watson, WEHI
  • Prof Andrew Holmes, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Debra Rathjen, CEO, Bionomics