The Division is committed to advancing the field of inorganic chemistry through the support of our members by building and maintaining relationships among inorganic chemists, arranging regular inorganic chemistry meetings and conferences, and promoting the teaching of inorganic chemistry at high schools and tertiary institutions.

Our Purpose

Our Inorganic Chemistry Division was created to:

  • provide a networking platform for those with an interest in inorganic chemistry from a variety of sectors.
  • disseminate the latest research in, and applications of, inorganic chemistry.
  • provide for the professional development of inorganic chemists.
  • encourage students to embark on a career in inorganic chemistry.


It was established in 1986 as a home for all those working and involved in Inorganic Chemistry activities , from students, academics and researchers through to commerce and industry.

We cover all aspects of inorganic chemistry, including

  • Chemistry of the main group elements, transition metals, and lanthanoid elements
  • Coordination chemistry
  • Organometallic chemistry
  • Bio-inorganic chemistry
  • Materials chemistry
  • Solid-state chemistry
  • Synthetic chemistry
  • Catalysis
  • Theoretical chemistry
  • Spectroscopy

Our division is strongly committed to supporting equity, diversity and inclusion.

Regular Events

Highlights include:

  • A national conference every 18-24 months where the latest academic research and commercial sector innovations are presented.
  • OZOM meetings in Organometallic Chemistry, a graduate student focused meeting held every 18-24 months.
  • Australasian Organometallics Meeting - OZOM
  • An annual State-based, one-day Inorganic Chemistry student symposium.

Divisional Committee


Prof Hugh Harris

Chair Elect

Dr Sally Plush

Secretary Dr Becky Fuller
Treasurer Dr Annie L. Colebatch
Past Chair Prof Colette Boskovic
State Representative - SA Dr Witold Bloch
State Representative - NSW Dr Lauren Macreadie
State Representative - TAS Dr Curtis Ho
State Representative - WA Prof Stephen Moggach
State Representative - QLD Dr Evan Moore
State Representative - VIC Dr Victoria L. Blair
State Representative - ACT Dr Jamie Hicks
NZ Representative Prof Nigel Lucas

Inorganic Division Awards

Apply now

Become Involved

If you would like more information on our Inorganic Chemistry Division, or how to become involved, please contact us below.

Contact Us

or via email:

Explore the Inorganic Chemistry Community

Explore Australia's largest community of chemists. A dynamic online platform that fosters discussion, builds networks and offers professional growth opportunities. Join and enhance your connections, share knowledge, and stay at the forefront of chemical advancements through conferences, seminars, workshops, and lectures.

Latest Discussions List

Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

Community Events List

Library Entries